(Lyrics) How Long O Lord Song Versions 1 to 3
Words and Music by Leslie (aka Jesse) Hughes ©

How long oh Lord
How long, how long
How long oh Lord, how long?

The faithful witness has been slain
Under the alter he still remains
Yet he stays true to the Spirit’s name
And he’s calling out that he’s been framed
How long O Lord, how long?

Until all the souls under the alter are set free that have been slain
Those faithful to the word of God, and did not deny his name
I can hear them calling out and swear that they’ve been framed
They are wearing white robes made white by the fiery flames
They’re hiding from the accuser and made to feel guilty and ashamed
For an iota of righteous they all have been constrained
How long O Lord, how long?

Yes under the alter are the souls that have been slain,
Because of the word of God and the testimony they maintained
Who call out to the Lord and swear that they’ve been framed
Who wear white robes made white by the fiery flames
For an iota of righteous they all have been constrained
They call upon the Sovereign Lord in the faithful witness’s name
How long O Lord, how long?

And since the devil used a sword to circumcise
With the Spirit’s sword the devil shall be slain
And that is when the Holy Spirit will reclaim
The faithful witness and our good Lord’s name
That’s how long O Lord, that long
Yes that’s how long O Lord, that long

I am a New Order, New Age and New Covenant Gospel Rock and Roller preaching the Gospel to the world in the tradition of Dylan and Springsteen. My songs and spoken words metaphorically interpret the Bible and book of Revelation, helping to shine a light upon Bob Dylan’s lyrical clues. I serve the Spirit of the Lord, and dedicate my eternal Star to serving my King the Holy Spirit of Truth (Isaiah chapter 11 and 2 Corinthians 3:17) and proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor, the day of God’s Salvation and the New Covenant (Luke 4:18-19, Isaiah chapter 61, 2 Corinthians 6:1-2, Jeremiah 31:31-34, Hebrews 8:7-13) by measuring the temple, unsealing the scroll in the book of Revelation and preaching the true metaphoric interpretation of the Gospel to the world inspired by Mt 13:35 and Ps 78:2 that states “I will open my mouth in parables, I will utter things hidden since the creation of the world." Visit my home pages to view my complete lyrics, Gospel references, notes and sketches. Thank-you to all my friends who listen to my songs and spoken words, and read my notes. Your friend and brother, Leslie aka Jesse Hughes

Revelation Timeline references include:
God Almighty and Son of God Revelation timeline references: Rev 1:8, Rev 12:10, Rev 16:5, Rev 21:6 and Rev 22:13.
John and Son of Man Revelation timeline references: Rev 1:4, Rev 1:17, Rev 4:8, Rev 11:17, Rev 17:8, Rev 17:11, Rev 19:10, Rev 22:8-9

Significant Gospel references:
• 2Co 3:17 “Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is there is freedom”
• Acts 13:20-23 Saul’s kingdom removed
• Gal 5:14 “The entire law is summed in a single command “Love your neighbor as yourself.”
• Ro 1:18-25 The wicked men who suppress the truth
• Isa 32:1-8 Scoundrels no longer respected
• Jn 8:31-58 children of the devil and father of lies
• 2Co 11:13-15 Satan masquerades as an angel of light
• Acts 4:36-5:1-11 Joseph’s property stolen by the devil and liar to the Holy Spirit
• Acts 23:1-3 Paul struck down by a whitewashed wall
• Ge 41:41-43 Joseph rides a chariot in front of Pharaoh
• Ge 42:24 Simeon bound
• Ge 42:36, Ge 44:2, Ge 47:21, Ge 46:4, Ex 6:2-4, Jacob and Benjamin deceived
• Acts 12: 1-3 James slain and Peter seized
• Mt 14:1-12, Mk 6:14-29, Lk 3:19-20 John beheaded
• Acts 8:30-31, 2Ti 3:15, Philip’s who never had Bible since infancy
• Acts 22:12, Ro 2:13 Devout observers and those who obey the law
• 2Ti 3:8 Jannes and Jambres oppose Moses and the truth
• Ge 9:25, Ex 6:2-4 Noah curses Canaan
• Deut 32:15-43, 1Co 10:1-5, Heb 3:1 to 4:16, Heb 11:13-16 God displeased with the disobedient images of God’s word in the human ancestry of Christ that do not return like Enoch to the city of God
• The Books of Romans, Galatians, Jude, 2Pe 2:1-4, Titus 1:10-16, Isa 14:1-23

Further Gospel References: Ezekiel Chapters 29-32, Isaiah Chapters 11, 14, 28, 44 and 61, Jeremiah Chapter 46, and Jer 31:31-34, Heb 8:7-13, Rev 6:1-9, Rev 6:9-11, Rev 7:2-8, Rev 7:13-17, Rev 12:1-12, Rev 13, Mt 19:28, Rev 4 & 5, Rev 16:4-16, Rev 17:1-18, Rev 19:11-21 Rev 21 & 22, Dt 32:15-17, Jn 16:5-15, Lk 10:18, Mt 16:23, Mk 8:33, Mt 24:27, Lk 17:22-24, Rev 4:5, Rev 19:10, Rev 22:8-9, 2Th 2:4, Rev 15:7 to Rev 16:16, Rev 12:1 to Rev 13:18, Mt 14:1-12, Mk 6:14-12, Lk 3:19-20, Heb 3:1 to Heb 5:10, Heb 9:9-10, Zec chapter 3, Heb 8:7-13, Jer 31:31-34, Heb 10:15-18, Gal 5:14, 2Co chapter 3, the book of Jude, Tit 1:10-16, 2Pe chapter 2, Mt chapter 23, Heb 11:13-16, Ex 6:2-4, Jn 3:27-31, Jn chapter 1, 2Cor 4:4, Col 1:15, 1Co 11:3, Ro 1:18-23, Ro 10:6-9, Ro 9:5, Acts 23:1-3, Acts 24:24, Acts 5:1-10, Isa 14:3-23, 2Co 11:13-15, 1Sa 8:4-18, Isa 28:9-22, Mk 7:1-23, Ro 14:1-4, Col 2:8-23, 1Ti 4:1-7, Mt 21:24-27, Mk 11:27-33, Lk 20:1-8, Phm1:1, Phm 1:9, Phm 1:23, Acts 8:29-31, Jn 14:8-16, 1Jn 2:22-27, 2Co 3:17, Lk 4:19, 2Co 6:2, Lk 20:41-47, Mt 22:41-46, Mk 12:35-37, Gal 3:16-20, Jn 8:31-58, Rev 3:9, Ro 2:17-29, Heb 10:1-9, Heb chapter 7, Gal 5:2-14, Acts 13:20-23 and most importantly by the Holy Spirit 2Co 3:17 “Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom”, and as Gal 5:14 says “The entire law is summed in a single command “Love your neighbor as yourself.”

(Please note also that a Jew and Israelite in a metaphoric interpretation of the Gospel is not a person of Jewish heritage, it is a metaphor for a part of all of us that is a Jew within and another part of us that is a Gentile within -see Romans 2:28-29- and how these two parts become one in Ephesians 2:14-22, Ezekiel 37:15-17 and Romans 3:27-31, also how there are those who are of the synagogue of Satan, who claim to be Jews though they are not, but are liars- see Revelations 3:9)

Here are some links to my songs, complete lyrics, Gospel references, notes and sketches:
facebook.com/rootofjessesongs

facebook.com/jesserootof

soundcloud.com/rootofjesse

twitter.com/JesseRootof

rootofjesse.tumblr.com

myspace.com/jessesongproductions

pinterest.com/JesseRootof

goo.gl/K98kcr

    Rock, Rock, Gospel, Folk-Rock, Folk, Acoustic, Indie, Singer-Songwriter, Dylan, Springsteen, New Age, Spiritual
    • Type: Original
    • © All rights reserved
    Full Link
    Short Link (Twitter)