Released by:
Juicebox Music
Release date:
2 May 2016

We're proud to unveil our new "Element" series. The basic elements of life are the most rooted and essential, but from time to time, we see individuals sprouting potential to become something even bigger. Through this series, we've featured artists that we feel have that special element to them and we're glad to be part of their journey. Please welcome the first lot - Tatsama, Maurice Caron, Ablekid and Owersound!

Kicking things off is Karthikeyan Sivasankar, aka Tatsama, hailing from Hyderabad (India), with 'Open Spaces'. With previous releases on Wind Horse Records, Good Stuff Recordings & more, his productions have a certain freshness while retaining simplicity, enabling it to work perfectly on a dance floor and casual listening alike. For 'Open Spaces', he's executed the same motto, while going a bit deeper down the rabbit hole. Revolving around an ever-evolving ethnic & haunting ambience, Tatsama carefully anchors the soul with a tight percussive-oriented groove, making it a treat for both the mind & soul.

Following the trail is '7 IX' from Maurice Caron, based in Leeuwarden (Netherlands). His knack for creating deep musical pieces has earned him places on labels like Particles, Inmost & Majestic Family. '7 IX' consists of multiple arpeggiated high-pitched tones converging on a bed of subtly shuffled grooves while ethereal pads & celestial vocals take turns swirling around a modulated bassline riff. We think Maurice's delivered one of his best, yet.

Coming in 3rd to bat is Daniel Moore, aka Ablekid. A veteran DJ/producer from the famous Orlando underground, now lives in Austin (Texas, USA). Much like his esteemed mix sets, Ablekid's honed his production skills to become more refined and thought-provoking, which is exactly what goes on in "Consciousness Conductor". A seamless transition in phrases armed with incredibly memorable melodies, vocal hits, bubbly basslines, wobbly stabs and a soaring pad over shuffled drums.

Closing the first Elements edition is 'Cobra' by Owersound, aka Arthur Minnametov. Based in Kazan (Russia), Arthur's groovier alias - Owersound, has been making waves with releases on Dopamine, Hydrogen & BC2. Maintaining the ethos, the aptly titled 'Cobra' lays on a lazy bed of melodic shots peaking in from time to time, while bouncing over a steady & stripped back groove.

Mastered by: Cid Inc Mastering

    Juicebox Music, Progressive House, Underground
    • Version: Original Mi
    • Type: Original
    • Release Date: 05/02/2016 9:04 AM
    • © All rights reserved
    Full Link
    Short Link (Twitter)